This arrived in my inbox this morning from “noreply@facebookmail.com.” The email address alone made me a little suspicious – doesn’t Facebook just use the facebook.com URL for its no-reply mail? Whatever. Don’t quote me.
Here’s what it said:
Subject: Notice of class settlement
Facebook is sending you this notice of a proposed class action settlement that may affect your legal rights as a Facebook member who may have used the Beacon program. This summary notice is being sent to you by Court Order so that you may understand your rights and remedies before the Court considers final approval of the proposed settlement on February 26, 2010.
This is not an advertisement or attorney solicitation.
This is not a settlement in which class members file claims to receive compensation. Under the proposed settlement, Facebook will terminate the Beacon program. In addition, Facebook will provide $9.5 million to establish an independent non-profit foundation that will identify and fund projects and initiatives that promote the cause of online privacy, safety, and security.
For full details on the settlement and further instructions on what to do to opt out of, object to, or otherwise comment upon the proposed settlement, please go to http://www.BeaconClassSettlement.com.
Please do not reply to this email.
Yeah, I’m not clicking the link. Just in case it’s some dumb phishing thing. I’m always paranoid about that.
And since there are no munnies to be had, and nothing to be done on my part, I’ll just let this go. I know I can opt out, but let’s just ignore it for a while.
You know what I think?
I think that, if this isn’t a phishing thing, it’s Facebook reminding me that I have a CivPro final coming up, and I need to make sure I have this class action bullshit down. Maybe review the four factors for class certification?
…Oh, go screw yourself, Facebook. Teaming up with law school to ruin my life and give me more ulcers because you think Eustace is getting lonely in there. EUSTACE IS NOT LONELY HE LIVES IN A HAPPY LITTLE GATED COMMUNITY IN MY STOMACH LINING AND IS A DUMB WHORE.
God.

Strange messege !
If it were really Facebook, why wouldn’t they send it to our Facebook mail accounts? I got it at my Hotmail account, which isn’t associated with my Facebook account, not my Yahoo one, which is… I doubt it’s legit!
Click on Jessica’s link – the WSJ has a piece about it and everything. Craziness, since I never even heard of that program…
It’s true. Were you part of the program? I didn’t get an email because I wasn’t part of the program, but I read about it on the BNA Tech Website.
You might want to read about it first…before you click the link…
I wasn’t a part of any program. My Facebook is very bare-bones. I’m a part of only one or two third party apps.
Read more about it here:
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB125332446004624573.html
WSJ doesn’t lie…usually.